Dare County Arts Council Announces 22nd Mollie Fearing Memorial Art Show Award Recipients

On Sunday, May 5 Outer Banks residents and visitors gathered at Dare County Arts Council for the 22nd Annual Mollie Fearing Memorial Art Show opening reception.

Photographer and designer Annalee Lanier carefully selected the awards recipients listed below from 75 entries.

“The show is a lovely collection of images that captures an essence of the light and beauty in the Outer Banks, as well as an interesting and inspired spirit as a whole from the artists,” said judge Annalee Lanier. “I employed a scoring system that included the categories of technique, composition, creativity and originality. The chosen pieces accumulated a high score in each of these categories and my subjective emotional response to the Best In Show piece tipped the scales, giving it a winning score.”

Best In Show sponsored by Lucky 12 Tavern: Bobby Wiltshire "Blue Gate" (watercolor)

Excellence Award sponsored by The Willey Agency: Mary Edwards "Nags Head Pier, Deep Water" (watercolor)

Excellence Award sponsored by the Outer Banks Forum: Mary Ann Remer "Window. Morning. Early." (mixed media)

Excellence Awards sponsored by Zillie’s Island Pantry & Mollie A. Fearing & Associates: Paul Newman "Off Broadway" (etching) and Linda Lauby "Pea Island and 1870 Chart: KDH to Loggerhead Inlet" (layered photos and historic nautical chart)

Honorable Mentions sponsored b